top of page
  • Writer's pictureCreatively Asian

Jameela Jamil

“I weigh: lovely relationship, great friends, I laugh every day, I love my job, I make an honest living, I’m financially independent, I speak out for women’s rights, I like my ‘bingo wings’. I like myself in spite of everything I’ve been taught by the media to hate about myself.” ~Jameela Jamil.

Jameela Alia Burton-Jamil is a 34-year old British actress, model, activist, radio presenter, and writer with Indian and Pakistani roots. She was diagnosed with Ehlers-Danos syndrome at the age of 9 and struggled with anorexia-nervosa as a teenager. Jamil was hit by a car when she was 17 years old, and was told she would never be able to walk again, but proved everyone wrong with her recovery. She later went on to become a radio host of the Official Chart on BBC Radio 1 and has modeled for Vogue, Cosmopolitan, and The Times. Jamil is also a staunch advocate for women’s rights and body confidence on social media as demonstrated by her Why Not People initiative, where she continues to serve as a source of inspiration for so many of today’s youth.


Jameela Jamil is not only an actress, writer, model, and radio host, but also a strong advocate for women’s rights, racial inclusivity, climate change, and body positivity. She has spoken out on so many shows and conferences about fostering a culture without shame and creating a social and emotional platform for minorities. Growing up with multiple body dysmorphic disorders, Jamil uses her own experience to relate to her fans and teaches them to embrace their identities, no matter their physical appearance. Through her “Why Not People” company and “I Weigh” Instagram account, she has encouraged so many individuals to stand up for what they believe in, and has helped combat the current dangers of teenage suicide, eating disorders, and cosmetic surgery.


“Trying is winning. I think we put too much emphasis on what we think success is. There’s so much to be had in just trying, and that’s where the real guts come from.” ~ Jameela Jamil.


Jamil's most notable works include The Official Chart Radio Host (2013-2015), Tahani Al-Jamil in The Good Place, "Why Not People?" Company (2015), and "I Weigh" Instagram Account (2018).


“The industry doesn’t mean enough to me to be a bad role model. Nothing means enough to me to abuse my position and not speak up for those being damaged.” ~ Jameela Jamil.


Jameela Jamil is a perfect representation of the Creatively Asian message because she is a young woman of Indian-Pakistani roots who has gained international fame and works tirelessly to create a more inclusive society for minority groups. She has used the many challenges she had to face as a child as a source of motivation to help others, and continues to serve as a role model for those who struggle to feel comfortable with their individual identity. Jamil knows what it’s like to grow up in an isolated and biased world, but has managed to work her way up through her many platforms and serve as a talented, inspirational, and powerful icon for the Asian community.


Originally created and posted on Instagram (@creativelyasian) by Meera Nair. Click to go to the original post!

bottom of page